Director Ali Abbasi’s Un Certain Regard winner Border was nominated to nine Swedish Guld Bagge Awards today. Pernille Fischer Christensen’s Becoming Astrid received six nominations. In total, Film i Väst’s co-productions was nominated to no less than 40 Guldbagge Awards.

  • As proud co-producers we congratulate all nominated films and teams and we are also very satisfied with the fact that half of the Swedish feature films of 2018 was shot in our region, Västra Götaland. Film I Väst is indeed Scandinavia’s most successful film region, says Mikael Fellenius, CEO of Film i Väst.

At a press conference in Stockholm today the nominations for the Guldbagge Awards for 2018 were announced. Film I Väst’s co-productions Border stands out with nine nominations, followed by Becoming Astrid awith six nomination. The Guldbagge Awards is arranged by the Swedish Film Institute and will be held at Cirkus in Stockholm on January 28.

Here are the nominations for Film i Väst co-productions:

Best Film

  • The Unthinkable (Den blomstertid nu kommer) Produced by Crazy Pictures
  • Border (Gräns) Produced by Nina Bisgaard, Piodor Gustafsson and Petra Jönsson
  • Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid) Produced by: Lars G. Lindström, Maria Dahlin and Anna Anthony

Best Director

  • Ali Abbasi for Border (Gräns)
  • Carl Javér for Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya)
  • Gabriela Pichler for Amateurs (Amatörer)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Zahraa Aldoujaili for Aida in Amateurs (Amatörer)
  • Alba August for Astrid in Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid)
  • Eva Melander for Tina in Border (Gräns)

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Fredrik Dahl for Musse in Amateurs (Amatörer)
  • Mikael Persbrandt for Hasse P in The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Sissela Benn for Karin in Sune vs Sune
  • Maria Bonnevie for Hanna in Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid)
  • Trine Dyrholm for X&Y
  • Lena Nilsson  for Simone in Videoman (Videomannen)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Jens Albinus for X&Y
  • Fredrik Hallgren for Rudolf in Sune vs Sune
  • Eero Milonoff for Vore in Border (Gräns)
  • Henrik Rafaelsen for Blomberg in Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid)

Best Screenplay

  • Jonas Hassen Khemiri and Gabriela Pichler for Amateurs (Amatörer)
  • John Ajvide Lindqvist, Ali Abbasi and Isabella Eklöf for Border (Gräns)

Best Cinematography

  • Ellinor Hallin for Wasted (In i dimman)

Best Editing

  • Alexandra Strauss and Dominika Daubenbüchel for The Raft (Flotten)
  • Olivia Neergaard-Holm and Anders Skov for Border (Gräns)

Best Costume

  • Ingrid Sjögren for The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)
  • Cilla Rörby for Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid)

Best Sound/Sound Design

  • Crazy Pictures for The Unthinkable (Den blomstertid nu kommer)
  • Christian Holm for Border (Gräns)

Best Makeup

  • Göran Lundström and Erica Spetzig for Border (Gräns)
  • Eva von Bahr and Love Larson  for The Cake General (Tårtgeneralen)

Best Original Score

  • Gaute Storaas for Halvdan Viking
  • Armand Amar for End of the Day (Innan vintern kommer)

 Best Set Design

  • Ulrika von Vegesack for A Moon of My Own (Ted – För kärlekens skull)
  • Linda Janson for Becoming Astrid (Unga Astrid)

Best Visual Effects

  • Crazy Pictures for The Unthinkable (Den blomstertid nu kommer)
  • Peter Hjorth for Border (Gräns)
  • Fredrik Pihl for Sune vs Sune

Best Short Film

  • As We’re Told (Vi bara lyder) by Erik Holmström and Fredrik Wenzel

Best Documentary Film

  • The Raft (Flotten) by Marcus Lindeen
  • Reconstructing Utøya (Rekonstruktion Utøya) by Carl Javér